Reviews

  • Book Review by Golok Majumder IG‏
  • Book review Tajuddin Ahmad: Neta O Pita,  2014
  • Dr. Muinul Islam, Professor of Economics, Chittagong University made the following review.
  • Author Sharmin Ahmad’s Memoir Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita (তাজউদ্দীন আহমদ নেতা ও পিতা) is bold, honest, poetic, lucid and based on years of research that speaks to the heart and stirs our collective conscious minds. Please read and reflectBook Review Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita By Syed Badrul Ahsan. Executive Editor,The Daily Star
  • Eminent Economist Dr. Moinul Islam’s article on Tajuddin Ahmad. He quotes from author Sharmin Ahmad’s book Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita
  • Sharmin Ahmad’s (শারমিন আহমদ) Interview with Manob Jomin মানব জমিন। May 3, 2014ইতিহাসের প্রয়োজনে বই লিখেছি
  • Writer Shafiq Shohag’s blog: His search for the history of 1971 and meeting with author Sharmin Ahmad at Chittagong book launching, April 25,2014
  • That was a good job done. She could have been the proudest mother today-her pain and pride found adequate exposition in daughter’s voice. Muyeedul Hasan. Author Muldhara 71 and leading researcher of Bangladesh Liberation 1971
  • You were wonderful Sharmin. Congratulations. Syed Badrul Ahsan, Executive Editor, The Daily Star, The largest English Daily in Bangladesh.
  • So proud of you and your book. Syed Badrul Ahsan. Executive Editor, The Daily Star. He wrote an excellent, thought provoking and balanced review of তাজউদ্দীন আহমদ নেতা ও পিতা – Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita the following week. May 5, 2014. You can read it here.
  • Awesome… Watching it. Oshadharon . Extraordinary. Fahin Arafin. Film Maker-Producer
  • Due to your courage and endless work, you have brought light to a most important time in the history of Bangladesh! May it encourage the people to adopt the values of your father and bring hope and freedom to the country. Your book is a tremendous accomplishment, Sharmin!
    Judy Twigg, Writer.
    Michigan, U.S.A
    May 19, 2014
  • Right now I am shuffling through the pages of your book and looking at pictures through tears s they bring back memories from deep inside the inner sanctrum of my being……. My first impression of the book is quite positive because of its production quality-size, paper and cover design. I will periodically giving you further impressions as my reading progresses. But I must tell you that you undertook a great task in embarking upon this hugely important project, both as a daughter and a conscientious individual. This your journey is both personal and historic. I will try to gauge your undertaking on both counts. God bless you and your family.
    Syed Mohammad Ullah
    Former News Editor and Diplomatic Correspondent, Eastern News Agency, Dhaka.
    Founder and Editor of the First regular Weekly Bangla news paper ‘Probashi’, New York.
    May 21, 2014
  • Sharmin Ahmad, through her work on her father, not only reminds us of the courage and sagacity of Bangladesh’s first Prime Minister but also informs us that history must not be made hostage to selective amnesia. May 25-14Book Review by
    Syed Badrul Ahsan
    Executive Editor, The Daily Star
  • A remarkable, focused work that will enable students and scholars of Bangladesh’s history to understand the legacy of the Bengali struggle for freedom better.May 26-14
    Book Review by
    Syed Badrul Ahsan
    Executive Editor, The Daily Star
  • This book is much more than a daughter’s account of her father’s life, achievements and legacy. Sharmin Ahmad has drawn not only a personal and family portrait of Tajuddin Ahmad, Prime Minister of the Provisional Government of Bangladesh during the 1971 War of Liberation, but she has also written a historical account of the eventful period that resulted in Bangladesh’s liberation. Next to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Tajuddin Ahmad was the second most important historic figure in the emergence of Bangladesh as a sovereign nation-state. In the face of immense challenges and great odds his wise, steady and focused stewardship of the glorious liberation war joined by tens of thousands of heroic freedom fighters was a major factor in achieving The ultimate victory.Book Review bySyed Mohammadullah. Diplomatic Correspondent, Eastern News Agency and founder of the first regular Bangla weekly published in U.S.A..May 27-14
  • I am sorry for being late in getting back to you. Thank you for your gracious comments about my insignificant interview. It was my duty to tell you whatever important information I had about our great Independence Leader, Tajuddin Ahmad. Whenever I think about him, and now as I read your book, he distinctly and clearly comes before my eyes. I can see his physical person, his dress and almost hear his voice. Persons like him come only but rarely, to lead a community, a people at significant and critical junctures in their lives. Additionally, it is a great blessing from heaven if such persons are humane but not ruthless even in the face of most atrocious circumstances. Tajuddin Ahmad was God-sent to us as a person of destiny when he was needed the most, in the absence of his leader and our principal leader was taken away from us. Tajuddin Ahmad was much more than Farhat Abbas in the absence of Ahmed Ben Bellah. Your book will help us, his grateful nation, to see him, understand him, appreciate him from his personal and family angle as a father, a husband, a guardian in addition to from the perspective of his historical role. I hope to be able to talk to you about a week from now when I complete my first reading. But for a greater understanding and evaluation I will perhaps need three readings and then read a few more books, including Mr. Muyeedul Hasan’s. Thank you our dear respected Ripi for undertaking of such an immensely important mission of compiling a complete biographical picture of a humane historical person. May God bless you.Syed Mohammadullah’s impression as he progresses through his reading of Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pta.
    He was the diplomatic correspondent of ENA News and founder of the First regular weekly Bangla Newspaper in U. S.A.May 26, 2014
  • Sharmin Ahmad’s Interview ( part 1) with Nashrat Chowdhury, Amader Shomoy.
  • Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita Book review by journalist-writer Wahed Hossaini. He read his review at the Greater Washington DC Book celebration on July 22, 2014. Click here for the review
  • Book review by Dr. Mahbub Uddin, professor of engineering at Trinity University, Sanantonio, Texas, U.S.A
    click here for the review
  • Book review by Dr. Mizan Rahman, distinguished professor of mathematics at Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada.
    তাজউদ্দীন আহমদ নেতা ও পিতা বই রিভিউ। ডঃ মিজান রহমান।
    Click here for the review
  • The following review of Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita is written by Dr. Mizan Rahman, eminent writer and distinguished professor of Mathematics at Carleton university, Ottawa, Canada.In this extraordinary piece of work Sharmin Ahmad has presented us quite a few hitherto unknown facts of the political history of Bangladesh, that are almost certainly going to raise a lot of eyebrows and not too‐few a controversy. The author herself has tried, rather deftly I thought, to remain as impartial as possible, leaving the onus of judgment on the unbiased readers, and not on the all‐too‐familiar players of power and politics. This book is going to be particularly helpful to our confused and befuddled young generation to understand why almost every dream they have for the future of their beloved country is getting crushed so relentlessly‐‐‐‐‐and why they are being subjected to a deluge of shame and national embarrassment day after day after day. “Tajuddin Ahmad: a Leader and a Father”, is a book that will present to them a clear profile of a great yet practically unknown leader, who was born in their own land, in his full glory and greatness, on one hand, and a wonderfully strong and kind‐hearted father, on the other. It is going to ignite a flame in their hungry heart, create a new zeal in their mind to carry out the task that Tajuddin was not allowed to fulfil in his own lifetime, cruelly cut short by political intrigue and violence. Tajuddin’s vision will become their own. They will be energized to get to the business of building a robust, healthy and boisterous society.The Liberation War has been engraved in the collective memory of the Bangladeshi nation as a treasure that has no equal. And yet, inexplicably, the first time I have seen a serious attempt at a psychological explanation of the entire history of the great struggle is in this book.
  • Book Review: “Tajuddin Ahmed: Neta o Pita
    By Dr. Sajid Hussain
    Chartered Marine Engineer
    Minor Freedom Fighter, Modhupur Freedom Fighters Camp, Sector-7 (Author of a thesis, 17 research papers, 13 books including “Ekattorer Prometheus (childhood memoir during liberation war at a Freedom Fighter’s Camp)” and over 225 features)The recently published book titled “Tajuddin Ahmed: Neta o Pita” is a unique creation of its writer Ms. Sharmin Ahmed (Reepi). As a writer she is not at all found to be confined ‘within herself’ throughout the book; she could successfully maintain the focus on her father (and the leader) even as a ‘tiny daughter’! Minors are taken as immature (definitely wrongfully)! Minor brains are fresh and their eyes are innocent. So, her innocent eyes observed ‘everything innocently’! But her excellence lies in presenting those tender observations mixed with her current maturity. Congratulations!As a daughter, Sharmin has successfully portrayed her leader-father in front of the nation; more correctly to the new generation. The book followed the time-line of the contemporary history of our movement for independence through 1960’s to the liberation war of 1971. The narration of her childhood memoirs in various chapters have also been transformed into historical mirror images. However, neither the book is truly a historical one nor it is intended to be a mere description of personal experiences; this is the uniqueness of the writing.Normally the internal, personal or family events do not become part of a formal or official History. Here lies the advantage for her book! This one easily contains innumerous such internal, personal or family events stated by her very young consciousness. True and real characters like her mother, sisters and brother, relatives and close ones have been revealed as fulcrums for important range of actions. We see that the Bangabandhu has been addressed as Mujib Kaku, the Leader Tajuddin as Abbu and so on by the writer. Thus, in fact, her integral position in such a leading political family-circle could turn her pen as a spontaneous pen for highlighting historical events that took place around her!One new feeling I, personally, have received from her book that Bangabandhu wanted to keep the ‘Declaration of Independence’ within himself exclusively perhaps for better and safer interest; even avoiding his ‘most trusted companion Tajuddin’! On the other hand he relied on the ‘transmitter task & its Engineer’. I also strongly feel that here lies a vast avenue of research.After successful completion of our liberation war with unquestioned leadership of Tajuddin Ahmed at Mujibnagar Government in exile, he was termed as the Bangataj in true sense! As long as our history remains alive it will always highlight the unprecedented leadership and patience forwarded by the great brave soul Tajuddin Ahmed that made our liberation war successful within only 9 months keeping the whole ‘nation under one umbrella’
  • Assalaam u Alikum,Thanks for writing such an extraordinary book. One of the best books I have read on the Liberation of Bangladesh. A really remarkable historiography about a really remarkable man.I am the son of an army officer who died fighting for his country during the liberation war.In fact we were neighbors, residing in houses on the opposite side of a wall, back-to-back; your house facing Satmasjid road and ours facing road # 19 . There were two very large mango trees on either side of the wall. Me and my brother used to climb up the trees and drop into your back yard, to be chased away by the police who guarded your house. And yet we were never even acquainted. But times were hard after Independence; perhaps we were all caught up in our own “worlds” just trying to survive through difficult times.When your father was murdered in November 1975, I was in class 12. The grief of your family was heart-rending. I still remember the absolute sadness, the consternation and fear in the eyes of your very young brother Sohel and your younger sister Mimi. In March 1976 I joined the Army and thereafter came to Dhaka only occasionally, on leave.Regards:Mahmud ur Rahman Choudhury
  • Gallant freedom fighter of 1971 war of liberation for Bangladesh, civil servant and academic Kamal Siddiqui has written the following review of the book.
  • The Separation between Mujib and Tajuddin was the greatest tragedy of Bangladesh. Op-Ed article by
    Sohrab Hasan. Prothom Alo. September 20, 2014.
    Click here to view
  • The Children Of Tajuddin Ahmad by Syed Badrul Ahsan. The Daily Star. September 10, 2014.
    Click here to view

Comments following author Sharmin Ahmad’s concluding speech at the Asiatic Society, Friday, April 18, 2014 Dhaka.

  • Loved your bold, needed speech. Syed Badrul Ahsan. Executive Editor, The Daily Star.
  • Your concluding remarks were as brilliant as the style and message of the book. Earnestly Kaku*. Barrister Amirul Islam. The author of the Declaration of Independence for Bangladesh in 1971.
  • Tajuddin Ahmad Neta O Pita Book review by senior writer and journalist Wahed Hossaini at Greater Washington DC book release celebration, June 22, 2014. Clck here for the review

* kaku is an affectionate Bangla term for uncle. The author addressed her father’s colleagues and friends as uncle which is a customary practice in many traditional societies based on kinship beyond blood relationship.